The Immigration Research Group is led by Karthick Ramakrishnan (director) and Qingfang Wang (associate director).

Karthick Ramakrishnan is professor of political science and associate dean of UC Riverside’s School of Public Policy. His research focuses on civic participation, public opinion, and immigration policy in the United States. He is the author, most recently of The New Immigration Federalism (Cambridge, 2015), and is founding editor of the Journal of Race, Ethnicity, and Politics (JREP). Ramakrishnan is the recipient of numerous grants and fellowships from places such as the Russell Sage Foundation, Woodrow Wilson Center, and Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC). He has over 1,000 news appearances, including in the New York Times, Economist, Los Angeles Times, PBS Newshour, and MSNBC. Ramakrishnan received his Ph.D. in politics from Princeton University.

Qingfang Wang is associate professor of public policy at UC Riverside. Her research area lies broadly in immigration, labor market, and development. With a Ph.D. in geography, Wang is particularly interested in how place–as both work site and residential location–interacts with race, immigration status, and gender in shaping labor market experiences and social-economic wellbeing. Her work has been funded by the Kauffman Foundation, National Science Foundation, HUD, and other agencies. Her recent work includes research on immigrant, ethnic and female entrepreneurship, and transnational migration of the highly skilled, especially in the higher education sector.


Benjamin Bishin, Political Science
Shaun Bowler, Political Science
Sara Castro-Olivo, Graduate School of Education
Loren Collingwood, Political Science
Kevin Esterling, Political Science
* Vanesa Estrada Correa, Sociology
Jennifer Scheper Hughes, History
Juliet McMullin, Anthropology
Jennifer Merolla, Political Science
Jennifer Najera, Ethnic Studies
Ben Newman, Political Science
Tanya Nieri, Sociology
Karen Pyke, Sociology
Karthick Ramakrishnan, Political Science
Robert Ream, Graduate School of Education
David Swanson, Sociology
Qingfang Wang, School of Public Policy
Devra Weber, History

Graduate Students

Amanda Admire, Sociology
Rudy Alamillo, Political Science
Ana Blanks, Psychology
Nick Boushee, Political Science
* Allan Colbern, Political Science
Connie Chow, History
Edwin Elias, Sociology
Christina Gregory, Political Science
Danielle Lemi, Political Science
Ana Marcelo, Psychology
Julienne Palbusa, Psychology
Justine Ross, Political Science
Sono Shah, Political Science
* Andrea Silva, Political Science
Fanita Tyrell, Psychology

Research Partners

Pratheepan Gulasekaram, Law, Santa Clara University
Manuel Pastor, Sociology, University of Southern California

Alumni of the Immigration Research Group

Chris Haynes, Political Science (currently at University of New Haven)
D. Xavier Medina, Political Science (currently at University of Arkansas)
* Tom Wong, Political Science (currently at UC San Diego)

*Past Coordinators of Immigration Research Group